<< Back to all Blogs
Login or Create your own free blog
Home > My January SAHM value calculation

My January SAHM value calculation

January 31st, 2009 at 11:42 am

I've tracked all my monetary contributions for the month and here' what I came up with:


I figured $100/wk for daycare that I would pay if I were working. An additional $20/wk for takeout meal. Then I added in all my coupon/rebate/sales savings that I scour the ads for in order to keep our grocery bill reasonable. Lastly, and a big contributor for this month, I "paid" $25/hour for my painting skills as I began painting the interior of our new-to-us home.

So, if I had been working we would have paid someone to paint the house. We would've done takeout more and I wouldn't be monitoring the grocery store sales. And, the kids would need after school care.

4 Responses to “My January SAHM value calculation”

  1. Amber Says:

    I think you knocking yourself short, child care can easily be close to $200 and painting hmmm the painter we (well my mom) hired charged us an arm and a leg

  2. pretty cheap jewelry Says:

    Oooo smart, you should do this as a little consulting biz, make a 'report' for women who want to use the data for whatever purpose (or their lawyer or who knows!)

  3. Nika Says:

    I think Minnie is very good at doing her calculation based on what she would have actually done, not on what she COULD have done... her goal seems to be to have an accurate picture, not justification of an inflated figure for use in an argument with her husband Smile

    If I use "could" vs. "would" in my expenses, I think I could write that we have saved $50,000 this month by not buying a Lexus. Because we could finance it, and there are plenty of people who make the same money as us that do, and our car is old, and my DH commutes 100 miles a day... so it is not unreasonable that we would buy one this month. So it is a justifiable claim, but not a reasonable one when it touches reality.

  4. minnie1928 Says:

    Child care may be more, my daughter is in half day kindergarten while my son is in 4th grade. I would need half day care + after school care, and that might be more than the $100 I figured. I'm gonna stick with the $25/hour painting rate because I'm a slow painter. I would probably pay more per hour for a pro, but they would get it done much faster.

    Thanks for all the comments! I was pretty shocked to see the number as high as it was. I wonder how February will turn out?

Leave a Reply

(Note: If you were logged in, we could automatically fill in these fields for you.)
Will not be published.

* Please spell out the number 4.  [ Why? ]

vB Code: You can use these tags: [b] [i] [u] [url] [email]